Looking to get a new laptop, advice?

PerdexPerdex Omnipresent
edited May 2012 in Hardware
I'm looking to purchase a new laptop within the next week or two for use with school work, general multimedia, and gaming. As far as gaming goes, I'm looking for something that can run games like Skyrim, SC2, LoL (Though that's hardly worth mentioning in this context), etc. on med-high settings. My budget is around $1100, though the more I can save the better.

One possibility I'm currently looking at is HP Pavilion dv6t quad edition with:
-Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM Processor (2.3 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
-NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 memory
-8GB DDR3 System Memory
-1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
-32GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
-15.6-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
Which will end up at about $1001.

I'm rather new to the computer hardware world, and I know a few of those pieces may be a bit overkill, but I was wondering if there were any recommendations for upgrades or downgrades in the hardware, or any other brands/models I should take a look at. General advice on the subject is appreciated as well. Thanks!

Comments

• Straight_ManStraight_Man Geeky, in my own way Naples, FL Icrontian
    That hardware set is decent at least. The price is probably pre-tax and pre-shipping though. The one thing I would get for sure in addition to what you list for a laptop if you want it to be more durable and shedding of heat is a metal shell instead of a plastic shell.
  • PerdexPerdex Omnipresent
    edited May 2012
    Yeah, but I have free shipping on it, and tax is only about $80. This model doesn't appear to be available in a metal shell, though I can't really figure out what the default shell is. Should that be a deal breaker for me?