Mehbeh I should make some upgrades....

GnomeQueenGnomeQueen The Lulz QueenMountain Dew Mouth Icrontian
edited May 2012 in Hardware
Hey guys,

I think it's time for some upgrades to my PC. I effed my permissions, so I need to do a reformat anyways, so I figured I might as well get a better hard drive to do it with. Mine is about five or six years old, so I think it's time to upgrade things. Feel free to disagree with me. Also; should I get an SSD and a hard drive? Or is that not necessary at this point?

I also need a new PSU.

I'm considering other upgrades, but I figured I'd see what you guys thought. I'm a grad student, so I'm kind of low on funds. I'd prefer not to upgrade things unless I have to (which I guess I don't have to get a new hard drive at present, but maybe I just kind of want one? heh)

Here's what's in my PC:

ATI Radeon 5870
4 gb DDR2-1066 @ 500MHz
DFI LanParty DK P35-T2R/S
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3GHz

(Also, thanks to @thracks for giving me well...all of the above. Heh.)

I know it would be easiest for all of you if I gave you a budget...let's say under $300? But it's a little flexible.

Thanks guys, you're all the best.

Comments

• TushonTushon I'm scared, Coach Alexandria, VA Icrontian
    edited May 2012
    Everything you have is fine to keep for now, and here is a great combo for well under your budget.
    PCP&C Silencer Mk II $90 after rebate
    OCZ Vertex 4 $140

I can get closer to $300 with faster/better parts, but that PSU gets you a lot of future headroom and a good quality product and the Vertex 4 is insanely fast.
    SSD info
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    You definitely don't need a CPU, Motherboard, or GPU upgrade. Maybe you could get another 4gb of RAM, an SSD, and a PSU. Perhaps:

Thermaltake TR2 700w PSU
    OCZ Vertex 4 SSD