Electric Home Brewery, Electrical Assistance Request

MAGICMAGIC Doot DootFurniture City, Michigan Icrontian
edited July 2013 in Food & Drink
I am not an electrical engineer or a certified electrician so I'm looking for some input. I have a good knowledge of AC and DC but aside from doing general home wiring repairs and PC wiring I don't have a lot of experience.

The project I am working on now is an electric home brewery. This isn't a new concept, and there are a lot of people that have built very similar setups. I didn't want to fallow a guide/plan and not really know what I was doing, so I did a lot of reading on electrical circuits and components to determine what I need based on what I'm trying to do. Here's a description of what I'm trying to do.

- 62qt stainless steel kettle heated by a 5500w heating element.

- The heating element will be controlled by a Solid State Relay and PID controller .

- 1/20hp pump for recirculating liquid in the kettle and draining.

- LED indicator push button switches for Main Power, Heating Element, and Pump

- Pump is also on on a Rheostat to control flow.

In summary, the element should be drawing 23A (5500w/240v), pump (37.29/115v) image

Primary Goal: don't die. Secondary, build this as safely and efficiently as possible. This is the diagram I came up with.

I'm looking for some feedback, suggestions, improvements, confirmation that I did this correctly or not. Thanks!
mertesnPirateNinjaGHoosdum

Comments

• mertesnmertesn I am Bobby Miller Yukon, OK Icrontian
    Pics once you've started building plz
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    Paging @J
  • MAGICMAGIC Doot Doot Furniture City, Michigan Icrontian
    edited February 2013
    mertesn said:

Pics once you've started building plz

Yeah, once I get some feedback I'll hopefully be ordering the control box components by Friday.