Any Cisco knowledge in the house?

trolltroll Windsor, Nova Scotia Icrontian

Fellow Icrontians!

I am trying to get a pair of Cisco AIR-SAP1602I-A-K9's online for a non profit organization, I have Zero Cisco programming knowledge, these units have already been flashed with the stanalone firmware from the distributor so I don't have to attempt that bit of fun.

I have followed all that I can find on the net about giving these things an ip from the console port but they never seem to come online so I can access the GUI.

Is there anyone here that can give me a step by step on how to configure one of these so I can access the GUI? I would like to have the access point take an IP from a non cisco router and use the second access point as a wireless repeater to increase the wireless range.

Is this possible? Everthing I have read says it can be done but I cant even access the GUI to try any of it.

I have the scg15-2-4_book.pdf so if there is something I missed you could point me to a page number as well, but a step by step would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Comments

• MiracleManSMiracleManS Chambersburg, PA Icrontian

Oh man. Someone ping @Shorty

• TushonTushon I'm scared, Coach Alexandria, VA Icrontian
    edited April 2014

cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/wireless/access_point/1600/quick/guide/ap1600getstart.pdf

Page 12 talks about a Cisco WAP LAN controller needing to be used for the automatic discovery to work, meaning you'd need an additional box to use the AIR devices. It's been a long time since I didn't any Cisco stuff, but I remember doing that on the two school deployments I worked on. Page 16 has the following quote:

The access point console port is enabled for monitoring and debug purposes. All configuration

commands are disabled when the access point is connected to a controller