If geeks love it, we’re on it

Howdy, Stranger!

You found the friendliest gaming & tech geeks around. Say hello!

Icrontic Expo 2014: The gaming & general geekery event you don't want to miss. Read about what's new this year and then buy tickets here.

Feeling Old

IlriyasIlriyas Magician, Sunbro, Grossly IncandescentToronto, Ontario Icrontian
edited Dec 2011 in The Icrontic Pub
So the basis of this topic is that I feel old, not all the time mind you really only when I'm discussing movies and video games with the 6th grade class I'm a co-op teacher for. (Think student teacher only Universities don't care.)

We're having a discussion during the lunch period, after all a lot of them have interests in superheros, video games, and to some extent movies so when a discussion about one of those topics begin they're almost always asking me questions relating to said topics.

The discussion of the day was video games, specifically favourite shooters so when it comes around that they ask me the first thing I say is 007 Goldeneye and they begin asking me why its not BF3 or MW3 before one of them says "Goldeneye: Reloaded isn't even a good game" so naturally I tried explaining to them that I meant the original...which apparently none of them knew about in any way, shape or form, after all the first 'shooter' these kids played was likely COD MW2.

Once I get around to graphics the same one then says "Wow that game must be ancient."

Now I was 4 when the game came out but I started playing it when I was 5 when my cousin introduced me to it (Badly of course but I had a lot of fun and I ended up getting my own copy for my 6th birthday.) I've also played a multitude of other games and I've never felt old playing any of them because most were made around when I was born (Or little at least) and I picked them up eventually.