HELP PLZ...comp wont boot up

edited May 2006 in Hardware
Im new at all this pc stuff so this was kinda stupid, Anyways..
I was wondering thru bios when i went into the pcu options and changed a speed from 133 to 166 ( I think thats what i have done)
Anyways, I exited an stupidly saved (i was in a rush)
then pc rebooted no it wont start at all, well the pc is running but with no signs of life.......... i tried clearing cmos and taking out battery for 24 hour no sign of post...................tried doin this too http://www.short-media.com/forum/showpost.php?p=94392&postcount=20 ............please help any info needed i can give any help would be great............................

Comments

• edited July 2004
    u think my mobo or cpu is fried? i dont think so cuz it wuz workin till i did that stupid thing in the bios...
  • Straight_ManStraight_Man Geeky, in my own way Naples, FL Icrontian
    edited July 2004
    IF the CMOS battery gets fully discharged then the motherboard may not post at all. Walmart-- get a cheap CR2032 coin cell, take the old one with you if needed, spent under $2.00, and with computer unplugged still, put new CMOS battery in, then clear CMOS (leave in clear for one minute, not much more), and leave the J10 jumper set to safe mode settings.

Now Plug in power cord and try to see if machine comes alive. If not, motherboard probably bad now, but keep CMOS battery as same CMOS battery can be used in LOTS of computers and on lots of motherboards.

Exceptions still to motherboard being bad, partly unseated RAM or CPU or Video card or any other card, or dust and dirt or hair in sockets or lots of gunk in CPU Heat Sink fins can cause a post failure. Air can, clean out well without touching anything with tip of air can sprayer. Check power connections, make sure connectors are on tight, also, with power off. I'd get a tech to look at it if battery does not work and you do not have a tech as a friend. Good Luck.
  • edited July 2004