Sim City 4

edited July 2003 in Gaming
I LOVE this game. I started playing it last week, and never managed to make a dime. A friend of mine told me a few simple tricks, and now I'm building cities far and high! The expansiveness of this game blows me away.

Anyone else playing? Got any secrets to share?

Comments

• paroxymparoxym Toronto, Canada
    edited July 2003
    Secret 1: Bring up the console and type "weakness pays" :p

But seriously, I was hooked on SimCity4 for a good month or so, leaving it on all night just to let my funds build up. (make sure you turn off disasters if you plan to do the same)
    The gameplay kinda hits a wall though when you have 5-6 massive cities all interconnected and every gift built. I have a feeling however, that the new expansion 'Rush Hour' will get me back into my 'up-till-4am' SimCity rut again. :wtf::D
  • edited July 2003
    You download the freely available gifts from the simcity4.com website?
  • BlackHawkBlackHawk Bible music connoisseur There's no place like 127.0.0.1 Icrontian
    edited July 2003
    I got bored of Sim City in 1hr. Never got any people to move in the neighborhoods so I said screw it. Got any tips?
  • NecropolisNecropolis Hawarden, Wales Icrontian
    edited July 2003
    This game never gripped me at all. I tried it on a friends PC for about the same time as Black Hawk but it never grabbed me and said "Play me some more". Maybe I should have give it more time I guess.
  • SimGuySimGuy Ottawa, Canada
    edited July 2003
    SimCity 4 is a radical departure from the previous SimCity titles. You no longer simply plop down zones, attach power & water and watch people move in.

The engine that drives how cities are built has been completely overhauled from previous games. You can't instantly turn your little village of people into a bustling metropolis. It takes time, money, a well-trained eye and lots of planning to grow your towns.