Window Case Size

edited August 2004 in Hardware
I'm really new to this so don't think I'm dumb...
I want to put a window in my case (which is small). Of course this wont be hard to do (so I hear) but I'll only have 1" around the edge of my window. Is this enough space? I guess strength isn't really an issue, but is there something I'm overlooking :eek2: ?

Comments

• edited August 2004
    I forgot to ask other questions:

1) When I set up fans in my computer (I only want 1 extra) can I just splice into the existing fan's power?

2) Can my cathode lights just hook up into my open connectors I have? And what about LED lights? I think my dell cables are standard 4 pin.

Note: Ryan has a Dell (4600 I think just like in the other post)... he was foolish, very foolish.
  • edited August 2004
    While I'm at it... I'm getting a DVD burner but I'm out of slots to put it in. I can move my disk drive to the top of the box. What's the best way to mount it there? can I get a kit that does that? And where?

:banghead: Yeah I'm learning... this site is actually helping me a lot!
  • edited August 2004
    Ok, as to case window lip, a 1" overhang is fine, just don't use so much adheisive that it squeazes out past the lip. I use permatex Ultra Black to glue windows in, it has low stink and dries quickly and is very strong.
    As to the fan, you can buy fans with a 4-pin pass-thru wired onto it, do that or get a 4-pin to 3 pin adaptor because you could very well blow the fan header on the board and for a Dell that's a bad thing, that stock case fan also cools the CPU as well.
    As to the cathodes, yes you can hook it to your spare molex (big 4-pin connector) or hook it to a drive, it doesn't matter as it'll have a pass-thru on it (pass-thru, male on one end for the drive, female to the PSU molex for a drive) just make certain that the yellow wires face away from the IDE cables, some cheap molex's will fit in upside down.