best digital tv tuner card...

rykoryko new york
edited March 2006 in Hardware
Ok, I currently have comcast digital cable which has hdtv channels around the 120-190 range. I can't view these channels b/c i don't have a hdtv-ready tv, but I want to upgrade my analog tv tuner which i have been using for 2+ years so i can at least view some hdtv on my dual 17" lcds.

Here is what i have found so far...

ati hdtv wonder
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=15-116-310&depa=1

hauppauge wintv nexus-s
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=15-116-618&depa=1

hauppauge wintv-d
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=15-116-610&depa=1

will i even be able to recieve hdtv channels through my cable box with any of these cards?

I know the ati is for "over the air" hdtv signals such as regular(non-cable) stations like cbs, nbc, abc, fox, etc... is it the same for the 2 hauppauge's? Are there any work-arounds?

From what i can tell, the the wintv-nexus-s is for digital satellite tv like directTV. Can anyone confirm/deny this? What about the wintv-d? Will the wintv-d work with a digital cable box instead of a digital satellite box?

Thanks....

Comments

• profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited December 2004
    I'm curious about that myself. In the meantime I just rent an extra cable box for about $3 a month and leave my (old) Hauppage WinTV card on channel 4 (the cable output channel in my area, yours might be channel 3).
  • rykoryko new york
    edited December 2004
    Yeah it's ch.4 here...recently switched from ch. 3 b/c cbs (ch. 2 in chicago) installed a new hdtv broadcast antenna that totally screwed cable reception on the default ch. 3.

I have a 2nd cable box in my pc room, so i am ready to go once i pick a card...