Unmountable Boot Error

edited August 2006 in Hardware
Hey- A newbie here :)
Just to start it off, nice forum you guys got here!
I've read the past threads and posts about "Unmountable Boot Error" and I've googled it and tried some of the suggestions that came up- but it just didn't work- my comp doesnt respond as how the directions are showed to...

I specifically used this one-
http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winxppro/installxpcdrepair/indexfullpage.htm

To make things way easier- I plugged in a new hardrive (90 gig) that already had another Windows system installed on it (unknowingly). It obviously lagged my system incredibly OBSESSIVELY, so I reformatted my old drive, with the old Windows systems... On the new drive, it's originally in Chinese, except- It was one of my fam members, and I can't read Chinese, lol.

I set my first boot as the CD Drive, and I popped in the Windows Disk... My comp got to the first step of "Press any key to boot from CD...". But then it just boots up to this screen covered in Chinese and highlights "Windows XP' 28 secs. Then, it just loads to Windos XP (No idea what you call it, the bar just moves back and forth :scratch: ). After that, it gives me the Blue screen with the "Unmountable_Boot_Error" and everything under it...

Other directions say to download things that can patch up the defficiency, but I can't even get into the Welcome sign in....

Any takers for help? :scratch:
Thanks
~User Friendly.

Comments

• TexTex Dallas/Ft. Worth
    edited February 2005
    It's just not booting off the cd. Try removing the hard drive from the boot seq in the bios and make it the cdrom all the way down.

And of course yes remember to hit a key to boot from the cdrom as the screen prompts ya to.

After installing or repairing (what ever your trying to do off the cd) reinsert the hard drive in the boot sequence.

Tex
  • edited February 2005