C++ string comparison statement problem

edited August 2005 in Internet & Media
Hi, I am ne to this forum, and have come seeking help. I am fairly new to programming and am having a problem with string comparison, in the following code, i have a string called "action" defined in one function, and then go to compare it in the function called reaction. even though the string may be one of the choices, it ignores it and skips straight to my else statement. If anyone can get back to me on this, thanks, its greatly appreciated, btw, i have already had some higher level programmers look into it, and they couldnt figure it out.

Oh just a note, becaue i move this project around, i have the include folder in my project folder, for easy access.

[php]/* MUD test
Kayne Raymond */

#include "include\iostream.h"
#include "include\string.h"
#include "include\conio.h"

//Global Variable Declarations

int locationx = 20, locationy = 20, firsttime = 1, GameRunning = 1, DisplayLocation = 1;
String action;
String name;

//

void Action(String action)
{
cout << "What will you do?";
getline(cin, action);
cout << endl;
}

//

void Terminate(int GameRunning)
{
cout << endl;
cout << "You have choose to quit the game. Thank you for playing.";
cout << endl;
GameRunning = 0;
}

//

void Location(int GameRunning, int firsttime, int locationx, int locationy)
{
if ((locationx == 20) && (locationy == 20)){

cout << "You look around to see that your are in a clearing,\n";
cout << "surrounded by a dark forest. It is fairly dark out,\n";
cout << "and you guess it is late evening.\n";
cout << "You can travel any direction.\n\n";
cout << "Type help to see how to use commands.\n\n";
}
else{
cout << "Error, out of bounds, will now terminate...";
GameRunning =0;
}
}

//

void Introduction()
{
cout << "
The MUD game
\n";
cout << "Thank you for trying \"The MUD game\"! If you find\n";
cout << "any bugs, please tell me. Thanks again.\n\n";
cout << "________________________________________________\n\n";
}