AMD Sempron - anybody use one?

CammanCamman NEW! England Icrontian
edited April 2005 in Hardware
I have zero experience with AMD Sempron processors, never even seen one. But I'm building a machine for someone and I noticed the Sempron is a lot cheaper than the Athlon XP equivalent, I assume this is because the supply of XP processors is starting to dwindle.

This computer is for a church secretary and it just needs to do things like word processing, designing a newsletter, email, some light web browsing so a high powered machine isn't needed.

I was thinking of going with an Abit NF7 and Sempron 2500+

The two together is about $140. Is this a good pairing? I figured the Sempron works in any motherboard that accepts socket A Athlon XPs am I correct?

Thanks for any info you can give me.

Here's the processor I'm looking at
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80141

and the board
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-127-185&depa=0

Is there another board you could recommend me to go with a Sempron? I don't keep to up to date on motherboards but I know the NF7 is one that a lot of people use. I have a Soyo Dragon that I got on an RMA of a Gigabyte board so I dont have any personal experience with Abit motherboards.

Comments

• primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited March 2005
    I have two semprons and they are great. I can't see any performance problems with them. My kids' computer uses a sempron 2500+ and they play UT2k4 and other games all the time. Performance is fine.
  • shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited March 2005
    If the machine is just going to be used for the low-end stuff you mentioned above, you may want to look for a board with integrated video, that way you won't have to buy a video card as well.
  • CammanCamman NEW! England Icrontian
    edited March 2005
    shwaip wrote: