newbie here, have a simple SATA question...

kduveykduvey san diego
edited April 2005 in Hardware
im going to be building my first system in a few weeks...and an slightly confussed about SATA. im going to be useing a DFI lan party UT nf3 250gb mobo ( http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-136-147&depa=1 ). my plan is to have the OS and major aplications be installed on a wd raptor, and files stored on a bigger 7200 rpm hard drive.
the problem is, i dont know how to set up SATA drives (raptors only come is SATA)...or if you even have too. i know IDE is very easy...you just plug them in on the same cable, with master and slave setting, and the rest is automatic...is it the same for SATA? the mobo im getting has 4 SATA connectors...should i also get SATA optical drives? also, the mobo has 2 differint kind of SATA ports...2 of each ( SATA/RAID: 2x SATA RAID with NVIDIA RAID 0,1,0+1,JBOD, 2x SATA by Marvell SATA PHY) whats the diff? and what should i plug into what? i asume my hard drives will go into the raid and set at JBOD right? (and if so, how would i do that?) and the dvd rw and dvd rom will go into the other two..right? as you can see, im very confused... :scratch:

my main question is, how do you set it up? is there a very detailed guide on the internet you can link me too? (im as newbish as they come... ;D )

also, what is the bennifet of having SATA over IDE? just alittle faster?

thanks a bunch

Comments

• Mt_GoatMt_Goat Head Cheezy Knob Pflugerville (north of Austin) Icrontian
    edited April 2005