Question about PC Power & Cooling 510 Express

GooDGooD Quebec (CAN) Member
edited April 2005 in Hardware
Hi all ! Im quite new in the world of high technology hardware. Im planning to build a new PC with an AMD 4000+ processor mounted on a DFI LAN PARTY Ultra-D motherboard with 1gig of the powerfull OCZ EL PC4000 VX GOLD RAM. I think i'll choose the asus V9999 256 meg Ultra for my video card.

So... this quite a beast and i know i'll be trying some overclocking. In the DFI LAN PARTY specs i've read that it takes a navtie 24 pins PSU... so im looking for the best PSU for my new little puppie (i'll buy it in ~1 month)... There i read some amazing review of the PC Power & Cooling 510 Express. But when i went to the PC P&C web site on the specs of this PSU when can found this :

ATX12V (2.03) <- Ok
20/24-pin <- Is this a native 24 pins for sure ??? It looks like it is by a look to the pictures of the pins.
P4 dual 6-pin video <- P4 ?... What is the mens of P4 ? is the dual 6-pin video is for the fact that this is "supported" the new Nvidia SLI feature ? Im not gonna choose the DFI SLI motherboard cuz for me the SLI feature is too new to be completely trust...

So my "real" question here is quite simple : Is this PSU will fit my new CPU ? Im not too familiar with the "native" term and the P4 mentioned make me think of Pentium of something like that so im a bit confused and i don't want to buy something that won't fullfill all my needs ;)

Thankx for your help

Comments

• rykoryko new york
    edited April 2005
    first of all that pc P&C 510w psu will work just fine. the 20/24pin thing means that an adapter is included. Since it is a pci-e and sli certified, i can guarantee that it is native 24pin. Also the p4 dual 6pin video connector is for high end (6800ultra+) video cards in SLI mode---hence dual. Originally these 6pin connectors were used on intel Xeon boards, so "p4" is somewhat misleading....