Is SP2 Firewall sufficient?

black94zblack94z Maine
edited April 2005 in Science & Tech
I am getting ready to add a harddrive to my system, reformat, and load up SP2. Is the firewall that is included w/ SP2 sufficient with a high speed internet connection? I want to do it right this time with partitions and good security as my system is currently all messed up with only having SP1 and no firewall. I have no experience with firewalls, so be elementary with me please! Thanks! ;)

Comments

• QCHQCH Ancient Guru Chicago Area - USA Icrontian
    edited April 2005
    I'd say that Windows SP2 Firewall is better than nothing. I'd look into some more robust though. If MS cannot keep people from killing its operating system, that cannot say much or it's other security products.
  • b0wzb0wz Tri-Cities Washington, USA
    edited April 2005
    SP-1 does have a firewall, you just have to go find it and enable it, its on the advance tab of your local connections properties window (network settings)

Any Firewall is better then none, but windows firewalls don't block stuff from going out of the firewall, they are not bad at blocking most stuff from getting in, but a trojan, or spyware on your pc, would just fly out of your box with out warning to the outside world.

I use Zone Alarm (it tells me when something new is trying to get in, or out) Its just been what I have had the best luck with, for a software firewall

What ever one you use, just try to use one, don't use multiple firewalls :thumbsup:
  • MediaManMediaMan Powered by loose parts.
    edited April 2005
    No hardware or software firewall is truly sufficient. SP2's firewall is better than nothing as previously said.

A firewall will not protect you from those questionable sites that, once you load them, they load in spyware in the form of internet browser apps such as shopping, search engines etc.

Those varmits are really tenacious.