I am new to this and I really want to help

edited May 2005 in Folding@Home
I have downloaded on this website the 5.03 folding package. Is this the latest and the best one? My computer is fairly good. I have an amd 2400+, 1028 mem. cosair, and soyo platinum black dragon moth. board so I hope that it will work well. I opened the downloaded package and joined team 93, is there anything else I need to do? Will it automaticlly open evey time I use my computer? THanks for the info, and it is great that people are doing this.

Comments

• TheBaronTheBaron Austin, TX
    edited May 2005
    Assuming you installed the graphical client (the one that puts a cog in your taskbar) then there's nothing you need to do, you're good to go!

thanks for joining the best team there is
  • edited May 2005
    Yes there is an icon in the task bar, so that is it, thanks. This really looks like a well knit community. I am glad I can be apart of it. If there is anything else I can do just let me know. There is so much information on this site it is a lot to take in and will take a while. Thanks

justin
  • Mt_GoatMt_Goat Head Cheezy Knob Pflugerville (north of Austin) Icrontian
    edited May 2005
    Welcome!

And thank you for joining us in our effort. :D

The only things I could recomend that makes a big big difference is to;
    * Turn off your screen saver
    * Disable Hibernation
    * Keep your comp running 24/7 like mosy of us do.

I hope you enjoy your stay and make yourself comfortable. :thumbsup:
  • edited May 2005
    thanks for the tip. Does it slow down if I am playing games or doing stuff? Thanks
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited May 2005
    Welcome to the team and to our community! :D

How did you find out about us?
  • GHoosdumGHoosdum Icrontian
    edited May 2005