HD partitions

SpywareShooterSpywareShooter 127.0.0.1
edited June 2005 in Hardware
I'm just wondering how I can create/rename/delete/resize hard drive partitions. Its probably a noobish question but I've never done it before and I don't want to risk screwing anything up. I think I know how but I just want to make sure its right.

Comments

• shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited May 2005
    you can do all of that except resizing through Start - Control Panel - Administrative tools - Computer Management - Storage - Disk Management
  • SpywareShooterSpywareShooter 127.0.0.1
    edited May 2005
    Thanks. How can I take space from my backup partition out and add it to my main partition? I can't figure out where to change sizes.
    edited May 2005
    you can't do it without a seperate program - the winxp disk management won't let you do it. I use Partitionmagic to do stuff like that.
    edited May 2005
    Ok is that program free?

Also I viewed the help file for creating new partitions but I don't understand it.

"Right-click an unallocated region of a basic disk, and then click New Partition, or right-click free space in an extended partition, and then click New Logical Drive. "

Where can I find unallocted region of a basic disk?
    edited May 2005
    Partition Magic isn't free...but someone else may know of a free product that does similar things.

If you have a new disk that has unallocated space (ie: not currently set to be part of a partition, so free space within a partition will not work), it will appear just like another partition. You can right-click the partition, click format (make sure that the partition is really not being used). Follow the prompts. This will only work with non-allocated free space. If the free space is within a currently allocated drive, it will format the entire partition, making you lose your data.
  • LINLIN Tri_State Area
    edited May 2005