Gigabyte PCI Ram Card

2»

Comments

• GargGarg Purveyor of Lincoln Nightmares Icrontian
    edited July 2005
    That board filled with those Geil sticks looks super sexy. But, that's not half as sexy as the benchmarks on that page. 0.1ms of random access time? That's beautiful.
  • RWBRWB Icrontian
    edited July 2005
    Tex wrote:
    You would be better adding ram to your PC rather then using this for a pagefile.

Using it for pagefile ONLY would be a waist. I'd figure if I had 4GB of System Memory, and one of these with 4GB of Storage I'd use a small Pagefile on it(256MB maybe with anymore on a RAID array or something in cases like my Rendering where I might need a bunch).

I'm not an expert like you and I would take your word over mine in any case(except that I'd still want one ;D ) but I'd definitly have Windows installed on one of these since my PC is never really turned off, or.... certain games and programs.

I'd really say that having multiple of these in a RAID array would be uber sweet as well. Think of 4 of these PCI cards each with 4GB of storage all in a RAID 0 array. It's be pretty volitile in that it's a RAID 0 array using Volitile memory(despite the battery), but for a gamer that's nothing to worry about especially with GHOST. 4x4GB=16GB of uber fast storage... enough for a couple games that would load instantly. I wonder how it would effect frame rate though. Any ideas?
  • GargGarg Purveyor of Lincoln Nightmares Icrontian
    edited July 2005
    I think that the maximum transfer rate for the whole SATA bus is 150mb/s. So, I think just one of these would saturate it. RAIDing probably wouldn't make a difference in performance, but you could get a large logical drive that way.
  • mmonninmmonnin Centreville, VA
    edited July 2005