New to programming...

I think it would been really cool to learn something about programming, I have no experience exept some HTML and playing...

So i wonder where to start, anyone know some good start up toutorals?

I really would want to avoid having to buy a book for alot of money, so a toutoral online would been the best thing.

Any other tips for a new beginner in programming would also be good ;D

Comments

• mmonninmmonnin Centreville, VA
    edited June 2005
    Books really are a great resourse tho.

Well you might want to tell us what language you want to program in first. ;) I like C++, its quick and powerful. Its a fairly high level language and pretty easy to understand the code even if you do not know very much of the language.
  • shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited June 2005
    I would reccommend c/c++/C# as well. I learned JAVA at my school, but it seems that everywhere I've worked has used c/c++. Also, most microcontrollers have c compilers, so if you want to get into things like that, c++ is definitely the way to go.
    edited June 2005
    If you go with C++, the MSDN website and cplusplus.com are great placed to look up error codes and look for help online.

In fact I looked at cplusplus.com and they have a little tutorial. (zip file)
    http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/#books

It just goes over the very basics. There is so much more to C++. I just finished my 3rd class at College using C++ and I know there is much more to C++ than I know.
  • edited June 2005
    Well, i was thinking of C++ mostly...
    But you are talking about 3years on college and still not knowing it all, is it really any point trying to get this on my own?
    Sounds like it's preaty pointless and that I wan't really be able to make anything usefull if I don't go learn C++ at a school or something :P
  • shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited June 2005