LCD monitor

ronboronbo Connecticut
edited July 2005 in Hardware
I have been useing a 19" Sony Trinitron for the last 4 years. But it is on its way out now. It does not have the nice vibrant color it had when I bought it, and it takes about 40 minutes to warm up and give me any kind of nice color at all. So when I built my new system, with the help of a lot of the great people here at Short-Media, I bought a new LCD monitor to go with it. I am a gamer first and everything else comes second. I got a good deal on a Samsung 19" 8ms response time monitor. Model number 915n SyncMaster. It has great color and is perfect for games. The best part is it only draws 35watts, the old Sony drew 250 watts. What I am having trouble with is the text on this monitor. It is not as clear as the Sony was. I tried useing clear type and it was not any better. The native resolution is 1280x1024 which I use in games but for my desktop I have it set to 1024x768 so I can read without straining my eyes. I also have it set for 72hz. Is this common for LCD monitors not to be as clear with text as a CRT is? ....thanks for any suggestions. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Comments

• Nolf-JobNolf-Job Inside each and every one of you!
    edited July 2005
    Change the settings back to 1280x1024 then change your display settings. You can increase the size of icons, menu text, etc.

Thought I'd provide some directions in case you weren't sure. Right click on your desktop to change the resolution like normal. Under the Appearance Tab you can change to larger fonts, then click the Advanced Button and you can customize things further.
  • profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited July 2005
    What does text look like under its native resolution?

With LCD monitors anything other than the native resolution forces the monitor to "fake it". It tries to come as close as it can, but since there is not a 1:1 mapping of the pixels you are going to get some distortion.

Read more here.