C++ String Tokenizer

AnnoraxAnnorax MA
edited July 2005 in Internet & Media
I am working on a text RPG and I need a way to parse the user's commands and I think tokenizing the input would be the easiest so I can piece together the bits. However, it is not working well for me. Here is the piece of my code so far:

cout << "> ";
cin >> command;
str = strtok(command, " ");

while (1)
{
/* extract string from string sequence */
str = strtok(NULL, " ");

/* check if there is nothing else to extract */
if (str == NULL)
{
cout << "Tokenizing complete\n";
exit(1);
}

/* print string after tokenized */
printf("%i: %s\n", x, str);
x++;
}

This is a test running from a tokenizer I got at metalshell.com and I want to get it to parse a user input, which it won't do. It runs and I input text, then it says "Toeknizing Complete" then it ends.

I am fairly new to C++ so I don't know how to fix it. And what do the %i and %s do?

Thanks for any help. :cool:

Comments

• shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited July 2005
    I'm currently looking over the strtok docs - will try to let you know what's wrong - soon, hopefully.

%i says put the second argument of printf here, and format it as an int
    %s says put the third here, format as a string.

actually - before I try to fix it (heh), I guess I wonder what kind of commands you'll be taking in. simple characters or longer commands (I only ask because there may be an easier way to do it).
  • edited July 2005
    Annorax wrote:
    I am working on a text RPG and I need a way to parse the user's commands and I think tokenizing the input would be the easiest so I can piece together the bits. However, it is not working well for me. Here is the piece of my code so far:

cout << "> ";
    cin >> command;
    str = strtok(command, " ");

while (1)
    {
    /* extract string from string sequence */
    str = strtok(NULL, " ");

/* check if there is nothing else to extract */
    if (str == NULL)
    {