Video card cold-boot problem in WinXP

edited July 2005 in Hardware
First, relative to Video cards, I am a novice, barely out of diapers so to speak.

Running WinXP on a 36-GB SCSI hard-drive. . . . GigaByte GA-8KNXP Motherboard with 1.0 GB RAM. . . . NVIDIA GeForce FX 5600 . . . . LSI Logic SCSI-320 single-channel PCI card. . . . One EIDE-1 hard-drive (partitioned OS front and data in second). . . . .One CDRW on EIDE-2

I recently flashed the Bios on my GigaByte GA-8KNXP Motherboard to correct SATA HD recognition problems. . . . The MB box indicated that I had a Rev 1.0 motherboard, and I used a bios update for this MB version. . . . . Unfortunately, this was the wrong motherboard version - - I had MB version 2.0 per some markings in size 8 font at the very bottom left edge of the motherboard, under the PCI slots. . . . So, I re-flashed the MB bios with a bios update for the MB v2.0 version. . . . Everything then seem okay

But later, I noticed that I had a cold boot problem. . . . . . .
. . .1) On wearm reboots - - that is, Restart - - no problem whatsoever. . . .
. . .2) However, on cold reboots, I often get a dead black screen. . . . . On a cold reboot, I usually hear a gurgling sound, sort-of-like a fish tank gurgling, and then just a dead screen. . . . .
. . .3) On cold reboots, after hearing the gurgling sound and dead screen, if I power-off and quickly re-power on, I can get the computer to boot-up properly. . . . . Though, it may take several re-trys to get it to work. . . . . When this does work, the reading of the Video card's bios is absent and the computer goes directly into reading the Motherboard's Bios - - that is, the MB RAM check, the EIDE Devices, and SCSI devices, etc