Setting up 98. Wont load!!!

tmh88tmh88 Pittsburgh / Athens, OH
edited August 2005 in Hardware
My cousins wanted me to fix their old gateway :shakehead and i think its a model from 99. Anyway it had ME on it and whenever the computer would turn on it would just freeze while loading ME. I tried putting a copy of 98 in on startup, and it would just skip past it. I changed the boot settings so the cdrom was the 1st device and still nothing. I even made a boot disk and for some reason the computer didnt even say disk error or whatever it does when a floppys in during startup.

Then I took that hd (its a fairly new 40 gig seagate) and formatted it in my computer. I put it back into the gateway and it was then saying NTLDR ERROR. Ok so i have no clue what that means, so i tried a different 98 disk from an old dell, and it finally loaded it. Im fairly new to the computer scene (2-3 years) so ive never setup windows 98. Anyway it goes to that screen where it wants you to type something (A>: or something like that) in to get it to load, so typed Fdisk, and I formatted the hd from there again, just to be safe.(on boot-up it was now saying no OS, which is good i guess). Like i said im kinda new to computers, and i dont know what other commands to type. I tried d/setup but it said bad drive name or something. Please i need suggestions to get this computer running. :scratch: Ok now im just trying to install 98. please help ive never had to do it before. im used to xp how it just does everything for you :)

sorry for the long discription, but i wanted to get very detailed so you didnt have to ask me anything again.

Comments

• EnverexEnverex Worcester, UK Icrontian
    edited August 2005
    It would be D:\Setup.exe rather than d/setup, also remember you can do directory listings with the command "dir" and move into a directory with "cd foldername" and then "cd .." to go back up a folder. There should be a setup file on there somewhere, can't remember where though.