Need some programing help.

jradminjradmin North Kackalaki
edited August 2005 in Internet & Media
Ok, I've been looking for a program that would monitor a DSL network connection and then dial out on a 56k modem if the connection is ever droped. It also needs to start a VPN after the dial out connection is made. I havent found any program that would do this, so I figured I would write my own. I have very little program experience, but I figured that this shouldnt be very hard to write.

I have a Visual C++ compiler, so if anyone wants to give me some pointers that would be great.

Thanks!!!

P.S. I'm using Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003 if that helps.

Comments

• primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited August 2005
    The corporate version of smoothwall does this - if the ethernet connection is lost, it will automatically fail-over to PPP or ISDN.

Note: The free open source version does not have this functionality.
  • jradminjradmin North Kackalaki
    edited August 2005
    Isnt this a linux based OS though? I just need a small program in windows to do this.
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited August 2005
    Yeah, it's a dedicated linux distro.
    edited August 2005
    That dont help. I just need a small program that will do this. It cant be that hard. Maybe the program could send out 5 pings every 10 mins to the gateway. If it gets no replies then it initializes the modem and dials out to the backup connection. Then the program could initiate a batch file that opens a connection to the VPN.

It doesnt sound that hard, but since I know little to nothing about programming then I cant say :)

I'm a hardware guy, not a software guru.
  • Straight_ManStraight_Man Geeky, in my own way Naples, FL Icrontian
    edited August 2005