Noob RAM question

PhantomphreakPhantomphreak Locally - Right Here on Earth
edited August 2005 in Hardware
I've got a Toshiba Satellite A70 (don't get me started on buyer's remorse) that I want to upgrade the RAM on. This will be the first time I have done this. I received a 1 GB RAM module as a gift recently and my comp has 256 (64 shared) mb factory installed and one "user-upgradable" memory slot. However, my system has a stated max RAM of 1 GB even.

So, I'm wondering: if I add this 1GB of RAM in the upgrade slot, will I cause problems being that I'm exceeding that max? If so, how difficult would it be to simply remove the factory installed RAM and replace it with the new module (keeping in mind I'm really quite new at this)?

Thanks so much for all the help.

Comments

• FlintstoneFlintstone SE Florida
    edited August 2005
    There are a few "it depends" in this question. Firstly, is your gifted 1 GB ram module a SODIMM? If not, it'll probably make the other questions moot as it won't fit in the laptop anyway.

OK, lets assume it's a sodimm and it'll fit. I have never seen a 768 MB sodimm, so the 1 GB number for the max allowable ram seem a little odd if, in fact, the first 256 is soldered on the motherboard or simething like it. So, I would say the next step is to open that baby up and see exactly what lives inside. Keep in mind that the ram can be almost anywhere. For example, I upgraded the ram in my HP and couldn't for the life of me find the second slot until someone told me to look under the keyboard. No mention of it in the manual!

The upshot of all of this is that if it indeed will only take 1GB max, and you have a 1GB SoDimm, then you should be able to remove the 256 that's inside it now and replace that module, in the same slot, with the 1GB piece.

Anyone with experience with the A70 feel free to correct anything I have said!!

Good Luck,

Flint
  • PhantomphreakPhantomphreak Locally - Right Here on Earth
    edited August 2005