Various reviews of OCZ products

TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
edited October 2005 in Hardware
For people that are thinking about getting OCZ products, some reviews might come in handy.

I'll update this thread every time a new review comes out. Please do not reply in this thread as i'd like it to stay clean. Just start a new thread instead.

Some of the reviews i have posted are pretty old, but they still holds some value.

Comments

  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    Hexus, a Tier 1 reviewer based in the UK has just released one of the biggest power supply roundups ever. In the roundup the team stresses 30 units to see who makes the all round best PSU’s. Hexus states that the reason for the huge roundup was:



    “The bottom line is that HEXUS hasn’t yet seen any PSU review, published elsewhere, which we think our readership should rely on an as guide to handing over your hard-earned dollars.”

    In the end awards were given out for best low end PSU, best mid range PSU, and best high end and enthusiast level PSU. OCZ’s ModStream 520 took second place in the Enthusiast category. This is a significant feat considering that the ModStream is priced in the gamer range, but able to offer exceptional performance and features able to compete with the competitors enthusiast level PSU’s. In the conclusion Hexus states:



    “OCZ's Modstream 520W takes second place due to modular cabling and heroic +12V current draw from a single rail. ATX1.3 still has some life in it with supplies like that.”

    http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=1359&page=1
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    AMDZone has released a review of our GX3500 and given the product an award for excellent performance right out of the package. In the review they state:

    “OCZ Gold GX PC3500 has the fastest stock timings I've tested to date. The GX line will even do CAS 1.5 up to 235 MHz at 3.1V, but the results were almost identical except for memory write bandwidth.”

    “Paired with a high end video card, you will have a system that is capable of satisfying our most demanding gamers.”

    “Memory timings this fast are in a class of their own and are priced accordingly”

    “Considering OCZ's Gold GX line is a niche product, I have to say it fills that niche perfectly and deserves a home in your next extreme gaming system. If OCZ's naming system confuses you, just remember Gamers Go Gold!”

    Entire Review: http://www.amdzone.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Sections&file=index&req=viewarticle&artid=177&page=1
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    “OCZ's PC2-6400 EB Platinum Edition memory kit was able to compete directly with Corsair and Kingston at standard operating speeds and timings.”



    “Hitting 3-2-2-4 timings is always a plus, as these are currently the best timings that we've been able to achieve with DDR2. What many will find most appealing is the higher speeds that OCZ provides.”



    “So in conclusion, based on their very good performance and excellent overclockability, we're giving OCZ's PC2-6400 EB Platinum Edition a 9 on the HotHardware Heat Meter.”

    Entire Review: http://www.hothardware.com/viewarticle.cfm?articleid=721&cid=5
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    Adrian’s RojackPot is at it again, and this time he reviews OCZ’s PC-4800 EE (Elite Edition) Memory. The product was awarded an Editor’s Choice due to exceptional performance. In the review they state:



    “The OCZ PC4800 Platinum Elite Edition DDR memory is a really good example of how you can make memory modules look good, without going overboard with fancy, blinking LEDs.”



    “These modules are also capable of running at ultra-low timings of 2-2-2-5, albeit only at 400MHz DDR. We confirmed that with our review sample. In fact, we managed to coax a maximum stable speed of 432MHz out of it”!



    “These modules are targeted at hardcore gamers who are looking for flexibility in memory timings and clock speeds. Although you can trade clock speed for tighter timings with any memory module, these modules allow you to do so right out of the box. OCZ guarantees that you will be able to run these modules at 600MHz with the timings of 2.5-4-4-10 or at a lower clock speed of 400MHz but with ultra-tight timings of 2-2-2-5.”



    “In addition, these modules also come with platinum-finished heatspreaders, official support for voltages up to 3.0V and a lifetime warranty! If these advantages are what you are looking for, then the OCZ PC4800 Platinum Elite Edition memory is certainly something you should consider.”



    “Because of its performance at loose timings and particularly at ultra-tight timings, as well as the platinum-finished heatspreaders and lifetime warranty; we would like to award this memory kit with our Reviewer's Choice Award! Congratulations, OCZ!”

    Entire Review: http://www.rojakpot.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=260&pgno=1
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    Neoseeker, a Tier1 reviewer based in Canada has reviewed the OCZ Rally, and they absolutely love the new product. In the review they state:



    “The Rally feels extremely svelte. It's metal casing and matte black paint has a much more professional feel in your hand over competing flash drives on the market.”



    “There is a certain allure to having matching brand system memory and USB key, especially when it is as formidable a name as OCZ.”



    “The Rally is a good drive for anyone looking to move large amounts of data around extremely quickly, and especially gamers who insist on having the nicest possible of everything. If any drive on the market right now were to be crowned cool, this is it.”



    “…performance and name brand are what make the Rally the perfect companion for gamers who cannot live without the fastest of everything.”

    Entire Review: http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Reviews/oczrallydrive/
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    Phoronix puts the OCZ 2GB Rally up against the Corsair Flash Voyager and JetFlash in a shootout and the Rally’s performance destroyed the competition. Here’s what they had to say:



    “When benchmarking the OCZ Rally 2GB model, we were astounded by simply how fast the drive had performed for both the read and write benchmarks.”



    “Thanks to OCZ's implementation of dual channel technology on their Rally flash drives, we've reached a new milestone when it comes to read and write performance for this type of media.”



    “Looking at the results, the OCZ Rally 2GB was 7.05MB/s faster than the Corsair product for reading and a staggering 17.26MB/s faster than its slowest competitor! Although the difference in write speeds wasn't as significant, the OCZ Rally did manage to pull the lead in all of our benchmarks performed.”



    “Editors Choice!”


    Entire Review: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=271&num=1
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    The OCZ PC3500 Gold Gamer eXtreme Edition DDR memory is a really good example of how you can make memory modules look good, without going overboard with fancy, blinking LEDs.



    The OCZ PC3500 Gold Gamer eXtreme Edition DDR memory is a really good example of how you can make memory modules look good, without going overboard with fancy, blinking LEDs.



    Of course, we don't buy memory modules for their bling-bling factor. The OCZ PC3500 Gold Gamer eXtreme Edition memory is rated to run at 433MHz DDR at ultra-tight timings of 2-2-2-5.

    These modules are targeted at gamers who want nothing but the fastest ultra-low latency modules at, without paying through the nose for premium memory. The use of cheaper Winbond UTT memory chips allow OCZ to do just that. It also comes with gold-finished heatspreaders, official support for voltages up to 3.1V as well as a lifetime warranty! If these advantages are what you are looking for, the PC3500 Gold Gamer eXtreme Edition memory is certainly something you should consider.

    Entire Review: http://www.rojakpot.com/default.aspx?location=3&var1=259&var2=0
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    Driver Heaven has done a review on both the 512MB and 2GB Rally drives. In the review the Rally drive destroys Corsair’s Voyager drive. In the review DH states:



    “OCZ have really pushed the envelope with the historically underperforming flash drive technology. Over the course of several days of extreme stress testing i never had a single instance of any file getting corrupt or lost, OCZ doesn’t offer a year or even 10 year's warranty with these drives, its a LIFETIME warranty. It doesn't get any better than that.”



    “For the casual user, the 512 MB Rally drive is the clear choice of any flash drive i have tested. Not only is it the fastest but the looks are sure to appeal to those of you wanting something sleek, elegant and small enough to fit in a shirt pocket.”



    “Both drives are awarded the Heavenly Hardware Gold Award with the more practical recommendation being the 512 model, but my personal favorite has to be the 2GB model.”


    Complete Review: http://www.driverheaven.net/reviews/oczrally/index.htm
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    Viper Lair has reviewed the GX3500 and highly recommends the product. In the review they state:



    “OCZ has been a long time favorite for those looking for high performance Their new EL DDR PC-3500 Gold Gamer eXtreme Dual Channel memory is geared toward the gamer crowd, who is always looking to squeeze every last drop of performance out of their Pc's.”



    “OCZ has built themselves a well deserved reputation among the enthusiast crowd and their new Gamer eXtreme DDR lives up to what people have come to expect from them. This RAM also goes a long way to show that you don't have to buy the most expensive RAM you can find to get great performance.”

    Pros: Excellent performance, Price/Performance ratio, heatspreaders, EVP, Winbond UTT chips

    Cons: None. You heard right... not a one this RAM kicks ass.

    “I think anyone looking to upgrade or replace their RAM would be making a huge mistake in not adding the OCZ Gamer eXtreme to a VERY short list of RAM worth taking a look at. Great performance, great price how can you go wrong.”


    Entire Review: http://www.viperlair.com/reviews/memory/ocz/DDR1/gex3500/index.shtml
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    The leading hardware site in Isreal has published a review of the OCZ DDR2-533 Platinum EB. In the review they state:



    Translated: "The reputation gained by OCZ in the past years does not fail, and this memory is nothing short of amazing. The memory allows very tight timings, and is in fact one of only a few memories on the market that offer such low timings. It is clearly the best choice currently available for users who want maximum performance without any overclocking."


    You can find the review here: http://www.hwzone.co.il/reviews.php?file=ddr2kingocz.
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    3DGameman has completed a review of our new 2GB OCZ Rally drive. The product was awarded the site’s top honor. In the review they state:



    “How in the heck can you live without a USB2 flash drive in this day and age? These drives are a godsend if you have important media to backup or transport. It's a quick and affordable way of insuring your important data is safe. While all USB2 flash drives are fast, this product is 30% faster. Clearly, this is a must have product!”



    “Kickass 100% Award!”


    Watch the Video Review: http://www.3dgameman.com/vr/ocz/ocz_rally_flash_drive/video_review_03.html
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited September 2005
    PC Stats, one of the biggest hardware review sites in Canada has reviewed our GX3500. In the review they state:

    “Definitely worthy of its "Gamer" Title... Gamers demand the best, and those of you who do not want to spend a lot of time tweaking will like OCZ's new PC3500 Gold GX edition memory. Most games require quick access between the processor and memory and the PC3500 Gold GX is rated to run at 217 MHz with 2-2-2-5 timings.”

    Complete review: http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1847



    On a side note the PC4000 Gold VX also topped every other manufacturer at “Maximum Overclocked Speeds with Low Latency” results.



    “In terms of best overall overclocking performance, PCStats currently gives more weight to the combination of moderately high speeds and low latencies (2-2-2-5) than high speeds at the expense of latency timings.”

    On a side note the PC4000 Gold VX also topped every other manufacturer at “Maximum Overclocked Speeds with Low Latency” results.



    “In terms of best overall overclocking performance, PCStats currently gives more weight to the combination of moderately high speeds and low latencies (2-2-2-5) than high speeds at the expense of latency timings.”



    Complete review: http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1847
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited October 2005
    OCZ Part #:
    2GB (2x1024) D/C Kit PN - OCZ5002048ELGE-K




    “One of the biggest questions today’s gamers and hardcore enthusiasts have is to go 2GB or not? The answer to this question is yes. Why? Vista. Yes, the Windows Vista Codename Longhorn. Other reasons include game recommendations. Battlefield 2 is a perfect example.”



    “This ram is more about multitasking and resource hungry games and less about performance gain. More or less, upgrading to this beast would result in a reliable and stable computer. In my opinion, multi tasking on my AMD 3500+ has never been more stable. With this ram, I could work on multiple applications including Photoshop, Firefox (with multiple tabs) and many more applications as heavy as MS Word module itself.”



    “Highly recommended for high-end gaming systems or mid-end performance gain.”



    “Acknowledging the superior performance and capacity of these memory modules, GamerGod Awards these rams our Award of Excellence.”

    Entire Review: http://www.gamergod.com/hw_review.cfm?hw_id=93
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway
    edited October 2005
    Rally 512MB - OCZUSBRDC-512


    Rally 1GB - OCZUSBRDC-1GB


    Rally 2GB - OCZUSBRDC-2GB







    “So how does the Rally fare? With its dual channel technology and the proof that this technology is more than just a name, I would have to say it stands pretty close to, if not right at, the top of the market.”



    “From my experience and use of USB flash memory devices, it is tops. The solid aluminum casing will provide better heat dissipation than any competitors’ flash memory device and it is also more durable than all others.”



    “I would Rally against the Voyager any day.”

    Entire Review: http://www.bytesector.com/data/bs-article.asp?ID=551
Sign In or Register to comment.