water cooling question

test_tube_tonytest_tube_tony Dallas TX Member
edited November 2005 in Hardware
I want to use a Swiftech Storm Waterblock on an Athlon 64x2 4800+ and an undetermined VGA block for a 7800gtx. I am using a 317GPH pump with 1/2" id tubing, and 2 120mm radiators. The CPU block is supposed to have high pressure to work properly, and I don’t want to chain the VGA and CPU blocks together in series. If I use a standard Y splitter I’m afraid I will loose too much pressure in the CPU block. Is there some kind of Y flow valve I can use to slightly restrict the flow to the VGA block, or should I not worry about it? Any suggestions would be great :)

Comments

• tmh88tmh88 Pittsburgh / Athens, OH
    edited October 2005
    I'm no expert in watercooling, but at one point I was very very close to buying a kit. I researched it for a few months so I know a decent amount about watercooling, but i bought some other stuff instead.

I wouldn't worry about it loosing pressure. I dont think it will make much of a difference.
  • test_tube_tonytest_tube_tony Dallas TX Member
    edited October 2005
    i probably should have mentioned that the cpu block has these nifty water jets in it. hence the reason it needs the pressure. the pump by the way can deliver 50 PSI. for the vga block im looking at the Zalman ZM-GWB2. does anyone know anything about this block? any good?
  • MAGICMAGIC Doot Doot Furniture City, Michigan Icrontian
    edited October 2005
    what pump are you using?
  • mmonninmmonnin Centreville, VA
    edited October 2005
    You could split 1/2 tubing towards the CPU block and 3/8 tubing towards the GPU block. That should force more water towards the CPU instead of splitting the flow equally.
  • edited October 2005