Some general raid questions

edited October 2005 in Hardware
Hi gurus!

As a Unix engineer working on big iron systems, I've always wished to be able to do some form of raid on my desktop, but shied away from tacky software raid. Now finally I have a system which allows me to play arround with motherboard based raid, call it hardware assisted raid or fake-raid or whatever you like. Since I started playing arround with it, I have discovered a few questions to which the answers still elude me.

#1 of these questions is Where does nForce raid and/or SI3114 raid arrays keep the partitioning information.
#2 is related to the above: Can I move a raid array, let's say a raid-0 stripe, from one motherboard to another, or even from one controller to another on the same motherboard. In particular, I have a motherboard with an SI3114 as well as nForce raid, so I may want to move an array from the one controller to the other.
#3 is there a way to add a mirror to a disk after the array was created? This is probably not possible using the default BIOS tools as these appear to destroy the simple disk partitioning information when you "commit" the array config changes made.
#4 related to #1 and #2: Is a JBOD disk usable on a non-RAID controller without losing the data and partitioning information? More accurately, if I have a disk configured on a RAID controller as a JBOD disk, can I take this disk to a non-raid S-ATA controller and still see the partition table and file systems? Conversely, if I have a controller set to non-raid mode and have a disk on it, and later want to add a mirror to the disk, which requires me to switch on the raid-controller mode to add the mirror, what happens to existing partition information on the disk?
#5 Are there any tools for backing up and/or re-creating partition table and raid array configuration information for use on controllers like the nForce4 raid and SI3114 raid controllers?