Best ram?

edited November 2005 in Hardware
My very very fortunate cousin (aka rich parents) is building a new rig and has everything set up except for the RAM. So far she has Athlon FX57, PC Power Cooling 850W SLi, refrigerator cooling (didn't even know this existed), 7800GTX, 2 WD Raptors, and etc. The list goes on, but one thing she asked me was what RAM to get. As I'm not really an expert when it comes to RAM, I thought I'd ask here. In your opinion, what is the best RAM hands down?

Comments

• NosferatuNosferatu Arizona
    edited November 2005
    She got an 850w PSU and only one 7800GTX? :p Anyway, OCZ EL and Corsair LL are top on my list.
  • edited November 2005
    Yeah, OCZ is supposed to have some 1 GB sticks that run low latencies and overclock pretty well too. Anandtech did a test of 3 different brands of 1 GB sticks recently and the OCZ was one of the 3.

EDIT: Here's a link to the article.
  • QeldromaQeldroma Arid ZoneAh Member
    edited November 2005
    Of course, if she's not going to overclock she will at least be able to say she spent the money. I guess that is a question here- is there even any interest in overclocking? For me, if I had the cash, I'd want a bragging rights rig only if I'd do something with it I can brag about. Otherwise, big$ LL memory is pretty much valueless.
  • edited November 2005
    I look at it as future-proofing the rig, myself, buying the 1 GB sticks. Actually, the Gigaram memory in that Anantech article isn't much more expensive than a high quality 1 GB DC kit. With an A64 (which the FX is), 4 sticks of ram still can't run 1T command rate reliably, but will run 2-1GB sticks at 1T just fine. And running 1T command rate on the ram definitely makes a difference on the A64.
  • edcentricedcentric near Milwaukee, Wisconsin Icrontian
    edited November 2005
    Read the anandtech article.
    Tell her to go 2x1GB.

What case will this be in?
    What games does she play?
    When is she buying the second video card?