What Pentium M's Will work with this AOpen M/B??

JimboraeJimborae Newbury, Berks, UK New
edited November 2005 in Hardware
I'm a bit of noob when it comes to all things Intel but i'm trying to spec an HTPC for a mate & want to know what cpu's will work with this board.

AOpen i915GMM-HFS Motherboard MicroATX

It say's it's S479 but all Intel Pentium M cpu's say S478

Help please.

Cheers

Jim

Comments

• dragonV8dragonV8 not here much New
    edited November 2005
    Jim, this is the mobo Sally has and hers has is a Celeron 1.3. It is along the same lines as the Aopen one.

Hope this gives you a bit more of an idea.

Jon
  • JimboraeJimborae Newbury, Berks, UK New
    edited November 2005
    Hi Jon,

Many thanks for that mate, I think that clears things up a bit. Doesn't Muddoctor use these chips as well?

Regards

Jim
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway Icrontian
    edited November 2005
    Jim,

I have that board right here and all S479 goes in there. Even the Celerons. Both 400 and 533 fsb cpus works since the board have a jumper where you switch. Board clocks terrible though and have very few options. No locked busses etc.

Most expensive paperweight i have ever bought.
  • edited November 2005
    Yeah Jim, I use them. With that board, you can use either the older 400 fsb Dothan or the newer 533 fsb Sonoma procs and you can also use the Celeron M procs too. You can also use the old original Banias pentium M procs too, but they are basically the same as the Celeron M, with the same 1 MB L2 cache. You can't use any of the Pentium M processors that use the BGA bottom, just the PGA types. The BGA types are made to be soldered directly to the board on ultralight and ultra small laptops.
  • JimboraeJimborae Newbury, Berks, UK New
    edited November 2005
    MackanzOCZ wrote:
    ................Most expensive paperweight i have ever bought.