One or more unrecoverable problems--help

edited December 2005 in Hardware
Okay, I'm not techie and I'm a writer with a ton of data I can't afford to lose (at the end of writing a book).

I've got a DELL 4300...only 40 g hard drive and much of it used with data mostly, I could give more details if you need to know just tell me what I should post. Last spring its power source died and I replaced that.

On Nov 6 I downloaded two widgets from konfabulator--an analog clock and a weather widget.

After that coincidentally or not I was unable to migrate outlook express messages to outlook (i work in outlook express and probably shouldn't as I get so many emails and attached files i am probably overloading it). they looked like they were going to outlook but they didn't. then i tried to import them FROM outlook and couldn't. then outlook wouldn't open--seemed to be a pst file error and "cyclic redundancy error" or something like that. I tried to reinstall outlook and tried to find pst and repair it but the only pst file I could find was in "backup outlook" not in my username directory where its supposed to be? Then I tried to uninstall konfabulator and it wouldn't, neither could i repair it, reinstall it, or do anything to alter it. Then I went to konfabulator's website for support and when I clicked on support I got the Outlook error message, exactly, from outlook, which was REALLy weird. Then I tried a system restore to before I installed konfabulator, and it wouldn't restore. So I tried to restore the day after I had done it and all hell broke loose, with unmountable boot volume and, in recovery mode with XP CD, booting up from there, only 35% of my disk in chkdsk /p and chkdsk /r, and then one or mor eunrecoverable problems.