Cheap upgrade for Brightonpixie

CryptoCrypto W.Sussex UK Member
edited December 2005 in Hardware
My daughter's (Brightonpixie) 800MHz rig is getting rather tired. She can't load SIMS 2 as there isn't enough memory and the graphics card is too old. :(

I'm looking at an upgrade of the MB, CPU, memory and graphics card. I replaced the hard drive, DVD burner and PSU recently. All she does is browse the web and plays SIMS. Her boyfriend plays Championship Football Manager. Plus there is some intermittent folding. :D

I'm looking at picking one of the MB bundles from here , probably the 2600 Sempron with 512meg RAM.

Any other thoughts for a UK supplier?

Also suggestions for a graphics card. Or what about a MB with integrated graphics? I have no experience of building "low end" PCs. This one must be reliable as I have to fix it over the phone!

Cheers

Crypto

Comments

• DonutDonut Maine New
    edited December 2005
    I don't know anything about U.K. suppliers, sorry, but I would stay away from the intergrated graphics otherwise your next upgrade will be a vid card. :)

Of course when my wife wanted to upgrade her machine, new parts for me, older but good parts for her. :D
  • CryptoCrypto W.Sussex UK Member
    edited December 2005
    OK, so Brightonpixie gets my Barton 2500 etc.

How about this MB bundle as a starter for me?

Thanks

Crypto :)
  • EnverexEnverex Worcester, UK Icrontian
    edited December 2005
    No idea about Foxconn but if you're not overclocking then I don't see any issues. But yeah, you can't really ever do ANY 3D work with integrated graphics.
  • DonutDonut Maine New
    edited December 2005
    Honestly I can't point you in a direction for upgrades. Heck I bought my first DVD burner about 2 weeks ago.

Hopefully someone else will chime in on some system recomendations for you. I'm a little to far out of the loop on newer hardware.
  • csimoncsimon Acadiana Icrontian
    edited December 2005