PC will not turn on?

adaytayadaytay East Yorkshire, England
edited December 2005 in Hardware
Hi all, this is my first time in these forums so please be gentle... :)

Looking through problems that have been posted here previously this looks like a great site, so hope you don't mind if I add a question?

I have an emachines 1.80 GHz machine with 128 MB DDR Ram and running Windows XP, and suddenly the machine will not turn on at all.

I have replaced the power supply with a similar one from another machine and although now the machine gets power, all that happens is that the power light comes on, and the processor fan spins - but it's still impossible to turn the power on.

Incidentally, when plugging this new power supply into the base it IMMEDIATELY gets power, and the power switch itself has no effect.

I'm guessing there is a problem with the motherboard? There are no beeps or anything like that, but it is impossible to turn the machine on, all that you hear is the sound of the fan.

Many thanks in advance,

Ad

Comments

• profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited December 2005
    For starters, try resetting the BIOS. You should also check that the power and reset buttons aren't stuck (unlikely).

The next step would be to unplug the computer and disconnect or remove all of the following (if applicable):

Hard Drive(s)
    CDROM Drive(s)
    Floppy Drive
    Extra PCI cards (Sound, Network, etc)
    Printers, Scanners, etc.
    All USB devices except Mouse and Keyboard

Ideally, all you want to have left attached to the MB is the CPU (with Heat Sink & Fan!), the RAM, a Keyboard and a Mouse, and the Video Card. If any of the devices are built into the MB (likely) don't worry about it.