what should I look for?

tmh88tmh88 Pittsburgh / Athens, OH
edited January 2006 in Hardware
This summer I'm going to start college, so I need to be looking for a new laptop. I was going to start in the fall, but I decided to start in the summer and take a few classes, just so my freshman year won't be too intense for me. I'm majoring in electrical engineering, so I'm not really sure if I will do alot of work with programs on my computer other than some programming. If there are any electrical engineers, computer engineers, computer science, or anything related, how powerful(processor performance, amount of ram ect...) of a laptop will I need?

I'm not asking for help looking to find a laptop, I'm just wondering if this i will need a powerful computer for my major. I was thining about the pentium m 760, and about a gig of ram, so I dont know if thats not enough power, or more than enough. I will probably spend around $1200-1500 on it.

Comments

• edited January 2006
    i would go with an AMD proc. i dunno about laptops if they use a different proc. then in a desktop but AMD's are generally better. just a thought though.

bikerboy
  • GrayFoxGrayFox /dev/urandom Member
    edited January 2006
    Definatly stay with the pentium M it offers the best proformence in its class and it will give you the best battery life.

A sager NP5320C is probably the best for you.
  • edited January 2006
    ah i forgot about battery life. my sister has a AMD Turion64 and her battery life over 2 hours though.

bikerboy
  • airbornflghtairbornflght Houston, TX Icrontian
    edited January 2006
    Im trying to remember, what brand was the beast that mackanz has?

as much as I dont like intel, id prob. say that id myself get a laptop with a intel proc. maybe not though. make sure you get a good vid card though, cause i heard that vista is gonna rely on the vid card to render stuff instead of the processor.
  • sfleurietsfleuriet Texas New
    edited January 2006
    Its a Dell XPS