Finally started OCing for FAH

CammanCamman NEW! England Icrontian
edited October 2003 in Folding@Home
Well, being the cheapo newb that I am, I was always like "AHH I CANT OC MY PROCESSOR, I MIGHT BREAK IT" but, in the spirit of the Team 93 Blitz (hey! where'd that thread go? ;) ) I decided I shall start my attempt at OCing.

After messing with some stuff in my bios (I have basic knowledge of OCing, thats all) I got my AthlonXP 2100+ at 1.82ghz (140x13) but it seems that if I go any higher than 140mhz clock or 13x multi. the system will not boot, I assume it's a voltage thing (which I know NOTHING about changing), so I'm gonna try to search for some good OCing resources over the next few days to see if I can get this baby foldin' faster and not damage anything in the process!

Right now it's sitting very stable at 117 F under full CPU load (F@H running) so, I think I might be able to get a little bit more out of her. But anyway, I just like to let everyone in our great folding community know whats the latest and greatest in the Camman Folding Fleet for team 93! :D Have a good day everyone!

Comments

• mmonninmmonnin Centreville, VA
    edited October 2003
    If you need more voltage then up the vcorea notch or 2. It wont hurt it at all.

Try lowering the multi and raise the FSB if you can.

What motherboard and RAM do you have?
  • TheLostSwedeTheLostSwede Trondheim, Norway Icrontian
    edited October 2003
    Which 2100 is it that you have? Tbred B? If so, 2 gigs is a piece of pai. Trust me. What memory do you have? 2700? 3000?
  • edcentricedcentric near Milwaukee, Wisconsin Icrontian
    edited October 2003
    Give us your system specs and we will give you enough advise to choke a horse, but not your CPU.
    It is just step by step. Don't rush things and don't take big jumps. Dont worry, it doesn't hurt much.
  • CammanCamman NEW! England Icrontian
    edited October 2003
    hehe, thanks guys. my mobo is a Soyo Dragon Ultra KT400