new rig, wanting to OC...ANY help welcome ;-)

DezDez Netherlands
edited April 2006 in Hardware
Hello, first of all, i'm a newb @ OC-ing! i do have my current cpu OC'ed...but as far as i know it's right from a program (it's a P4 2,66 @ 2,67).
i was looking around for specs of my new processor when i came upon some features about OC-ing it....hence i came here and found you guys!
(forum looks great and very open!)
Ok, here's a start from me, i've carefully chosen most parts, using the "how to build a SLI-pc" @ nVidia.
My new pjoeter will look something like this :

Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
Enermax EG701AX-VE (G) SFMA 600 Watt
XFX 256MB 7900GT xt PCI-E (waiting for it to come! standard OC @ Clock rate
550 MHz/Memory Clock 1.63 GHz)

above items are on hold until the xfx is in, so i COULD change the enermax if needed!

OCZ Memory EL Platinum Dual Channel 2048 MB, PC3200, 400 MHz /2x1024!
Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Hitachi Deskstar T7K250/200GB,7200rpm,8MB,SATAII,ncq / 2 times! (im not sure what RAID though, open to suggestions)
and even more, i have a 160GB Maxtor IDE i would somehow like to include in this system....if possible, if not, Dad gets a brand new large hdd with this system ;-)

later on i'm planning to buy another xfx card to turn it into SLI.

I'd like to "mildly" OC the 3800 up to 2500Ghz. I don't have the parts actually in, so i'm concentrating on getting as much info/input i can get before the actual build ofcourse :-)

I already have tried to calculate which PSU would suit my needs @ http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp
according to the stats there i should have enough power left, but i'm still not sure if the "rails" are good enough??

Hope you guys can help me out a bit (judging from the replies i've seen you can!) :D

Comments

• lemonlimelemonlime Canada Member
    edited April 2006