Installing FAH in Linux

CryptoCrypto W.Sussex UK Member
edited May 2006 in Folding@Home
OK, very new entrant in to Linux here. Just installed Ubuntu and am feeling my way around.

Whilst I'm exploring, my Windows OS isn't folding!

I'v downloaded the Linux version of FAH and I have a file entitled FAH504-Linux.exe sitting on my otherwise empty desktop.
What do I do with it?

I am very new at this.....

Thanks

Comments

• citrixmetacitrixmeta Montreal, Quebec Icrontian
    edited May 2006
    here ya go friend,
    http://folding.stanford.edu/linux.html

dump that exe into a folder, and run

chmod +x FAH504-Linux.exe
    then
    ./FAH504-Linux.exe

and fill in the required info and your set!

for more commands, look here.. http://fah-web.stanford.edu/console-userguide.txt

one note though, while building my cluster, ive read alot of articles about folding slowdown under linux, some say its actually FASTER to fold win32 under WINE :o

thats how my cluster is folding today.

get started with this and we can compare scores.
  • CryptoCrypto W.Sussex UK Member
    edited May 2006
    OK,

found this link and managed to get FAH running(with lots of modifications, Linux sure is steep learning curve)

However, I can't seem to work out how to keep it running in the background and to start automatically on reboot.

are the commands required specific to Ubuntu? The commands from Prime's article didn't work.

Thanks

Crypto
  • citrixmetacitrixmeta Montreal, Quebec Icrontian
    edited May 2006
    Taken from here

"Creating a script to launch the client in the background
    You can easily create a script that will run the client as a background process. Using whatever plain text editor is bundled with your GUI (or vi if you're a seasoned UNIX hacker, or just plain masochistic), create the following text file:

#!/bin/bash
    ./FAH502-Linux.exe -forceasm >>folding.log 2>&1 &