Likely Controller Or Harddrive?

edited May 2006 in Hardware
Hiya guys, i've got an Abit af7-s v.2; it's pretty well o.c'd, pc3700, XP2500 oc'd up to 420 fsb, etc.. it's run great like this, i'm an electronic technician, i monitor heat, etc;

Here's what happened. The box has run with a 440 and a 430 fsb before; recently with not aming so much i dropped the fsb to 420. Still no problems.

Machine had been running fine. Couple of nights ago i was sitting there web surfing and the machine just crapped out and reset. Upon restart, got message "no 80 pin cable connected"; Then, i stuck in a winxp upgrade disc. It said, no windows installation detected. Hmm. Went into bios... hard drive detected, then not detected in bios, back and forth, till at this point, i've got no detection of either cdrom, or hard drive. When i try to respin up i'll get one of two messages: boot volume missing or something like that, and blue screen white type, windows has been shut down to protect your machine.

Alternately, i get large white letters saying no system disk, insert disk into A: and hit enter.

Now lets see.. when it died the first time, i defragged it and the beginning and ending results were the same: huge chunk of the disk ws obviously undefragmented, yet it said i didnt' need to defrag. (disk was well kept and never had fragmentation problems.)So what i did was had it do a chkdsk and restarted. It detected just hundreds of errors, claimed to be fixing, or trying to fix, but it would still restart, then crash again. The crashing got faster and faster till it wouldn't load windows any more

Hmmm.... grabbed an old win98 disk i have lying around, had it do a scandisk. Halfway through, said long filename error, couldn't proceed.

Oh yes one other thing: When i could restart windows, it would start, then claim "lsass. error wrong value placed into a .... and i cant remember what it said.