Big Confusing Problem--HELP

edited June 2006 in Hardware
Hey guys,

Newbie here. I was googling my problem and found your site. It seemed very informative so I decided to see if you could help me. This will be long because of how weird the situation is.

I was updating mine and my moms computer to XP. Well, updating hers, and reformatting and fixing mine. Our computers are almost identical. I have a HP xe783 she has a xe793. My bois is 4.06 revision 2.10 hers is 4.06 rev. 2.03.
I hooked my hard drive up to hers as a slave and saved valuable data to hers. After I got mine reformatted I hooked back up and transferred it back to mine. I did the same thing with her hard drive. Except with hers I went ahead and did the fdisk, reformat, and XP install. I did this while the hd was installed as a primary in my computer (I know dumb move). Well while hers was opened up she sprayed it out with canned air because it was extremely filthy(may or may not be related, you decide). The software install was a pain but I finally got it to take. I tested it out and it was working fine on my computer. When I installed the hd back into her computer and all I got was a screen with a flashing prompt. Was told the jumper might still be set to slave, which it wasn't, but I tried moving it anyways just for kicks to see what happened. And according to what position it was in I would get different problems.
  • Jumper 1-Nothing-Flashing prompt
  • Jumper 2-Nothing-flashing prompt(this jumper worked in my computer could do fdisk and format)
  • Jumper 3-drive c does not contain a valid fat or fat 32 partition run fdisk.(tried to run fdisk and got --no fixed disk found