Noobie System

sociable-nomadsociable-nomad New Zealand - The land of the long white cloud
edited June 2006 in Hardware
First of all YAY for my first post on the site, Ive been lurkin about here (durin work hours of course) for the past couple of weeks readin stuff...

So im finally making the leap and instead of leaching time on others computers Im buying and building my own. In saying this Im a complete noobie when it comes to system building so im lookin for a little advice on hardware. So here goes the parts list:

Already purchased:

Asus A8N sli - se
Sunbeamtech UV reactive perspex case (primarily to get ma geek on)

Awaiting purchace:

AMD 3800+ Dual core processor
Memory (please advise of a decent ammount and type; mid price point)
XFX 7900gt extreme edition graphics card
PSU (anyone had experiance with raidmax products? any good?)
Baracudda 7200 RPM 200gb hard drive
and an ASUS optical drive (nothin decided yet.)
Thermaltake Beetle CPU cooler

*Various case mods*

Primarily the computer will be for gaming but in a few months time I wanna use it for a little sound editing with the addition of a decent sound card. I feel confident in my first attempt to overclock it some (thanks to the article I found here) but will most likely be a regular on the forums untill I get it up and running...

I reside in The Land of The Long White Cloud - New Zealand

Thanks in advance for any input - SN -

Comments

• EnverexEnverex Worcester, UK Icrontian
    edited June 2006
    Can't really recommend anything without a location.
  • Sledgehammer70Sledgehammer70 California Icrontian
    edited June 2006
    First off welcome to Short-Media, we take pride in helping new members build PC's...

So far what you have chosen looks good. For your PSU OCZ & Antec make great PSU's get something with at least 480W or better. Sorry didn't see ram...