1st a system32\config error, then lsass problem

edited August 2006 in Hardware
Hi,

I'm a newbie with a problem with my Toshiba Satellite M55 laptop. I'm afraid that my tinkering at trying to one problem has led to a 2nd potentially more serious one.

Background:

The laptop does not have a floppy disk drive, although I do have a portable FDD that plugs into an USB port. The operating system is XP home. No XP installation discs shipped with the laptop and (the fool that I am) I never created these discs when prompted by the laptop.

I have had the laptop for just over 1 year and I used Norton Anti-virus, Webroot's SpySweeper, and my Linksys router's firewall.

1st problem:

When my subscription to Norton expired, I decided to switch to McAfee. I read that I should uninstall Norton first so as to avoid some potential conflicts. I used Norton's uninstall tool to remove Norton Anti-virus. It asked me to restart the computer. At that point, I received a system32\config error.

Following the advice of some posts that I found at this site, I was able to access the recovery console (using a friend's XP Pro CD). No password has ever been set for my system. I corrected my system32\config error by copying the system.bak file from the windows\repair directory.

2nd problem:

Upon rebooting, I attempted to log in using the last good log-in mode. At this point I received the lsass error loop.

Thinking that I could fix the problem again with recovery console, I tried to get back to the dos prompt. This time, when I left my password blank, I received a message indicating that I did not input the correct password.

I've gotten to the point of my (limited) PC expertise. Any advice/help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited August 2006
    Have you tried booting into Safe Mode?
  • edited August 2006
    Unfortunately, booting into safe mode results in the same problem.
    edited August 2006