ASUS P5P800 SE problem

edited August 2006 in Hardware
I saw there were people using this motherboard on this forum, so i have a question to a problem i bumped to.

I have decided to upgrade my former system (pIII dual proc 1.0Ghz,gigabyte 6vxd7) with a new motherboard, and processor, and suitable Ram, but i wanted to use my old AGP graphic card, and the PCI components which i still have.

So i bought a pentium D 930 processor, 2x 256 kingston DDR Ram (for dual chanel) and the ASUS p5p800 motherboard. When i've put the system together into the case i realised that the power supply doesn't fit because of the ATX 20 PIN connector. I am not an expert in electrics,so my fear to make a short-circuit on the mtherboard didn't give me any courage to plug and try the existing supply, so i went to a shop and bought a 24 PIN ATX power supply, but as i found out later 20 PIN works just the same:-/ .

After all that i've started the system up,but nothing came on the screen. I have switched the RAM(all combinations),even tryed another firm(took it from the neighbours AMD PC) than i used an old PCI graphic card, if this would perhaps be the problem, and finally, cleared the CMOS as written in the manual. Still nothing. After a day of changing RAM, power supply, all the PIN-s on the board, i have given up and wrote to asus support. They were kind and described me all the procedures i have already done. After a while i went to the internet and realised that this motherboard doesn't even support the Pentium D processors, so after questioning the asus support, they've told me to buy a Second edition, so a P5P800 SE, to work properly.

That was the preface, now the problem.:hrm: