Absolutely nothing happens!

edited September 2006 in Hardware
Hi,

I was given a long-neglected computer yesterday by a friend who had been keeping it in their shed.

When I got it home, I booted it up and set about installing the broadband, Firefox, etc. on it (it's running XP Pro by the way).

Then, I woke up this morning and went to check my emails, and ABSOLUTELY NOTHING happens. Not a sausage.

Now, upon opening the case, I find that the area around the power switch is slightly rusted - but nothing else is aparently wrong. No loose wires or anything.

My theory is that the switch has become stuck in the off position permanantly, but I am a novice and thought someone else may have some other ideas...

Also,the pc is a Compaq Deskpro. I'm sorry I don't know which model and neither does my friend. It has an intel pentium 3 processor - but I don't know its speed. Any thoughts on where I may purchase a replacement, or other theories about what may be going on?

Thanks,
Huckle

Comments

• Mt_GoatMt_Goat Head Cheezy Knob Pflugerville (north of Austin) Icrontian
    edited September 2006
    Since it is running Xp Pro I seriously doubt it is an AT typse system where the powerswithch is and on/off type. And it is likely to be an ATX system where the power swithch is and intermittent jump to activate the power circutry on the motherboard and power supply. With this said I beleive the first ored of buisness is to thouroughly cleat the whole thing. Be sure to remove all jumpers (noting their current positions) and connections and clean them with alcohol. Then reassemble everything and see what happens.
  • edited September 2006
    Google tells me it is an ATX switch.

I have cleaned, checked and double checked all the jumpers, and still nothing.