Help Fast - Novice PHP Include Issue

Nolf-JobNolf-Job Inside each and every one of you!
edited September 2006 in Internet & Media
I'm new to php and am working on a site that will get moved over to a new server. I have my index.php file which I call include header.php and include footer.php. I can get it to work fine if I use absolute paths for the included files. I want to use relative paths from the web root and can't seem to figure out how. I've tried using include '/includes/header.php' but from what I've read that takes me to the file root of the server and not the web root.

When I try to use include($DOCUMENT_ROOT."/header.php") I get the following error:

Warning: include(includes/header.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/champion/k/snolfi/www/epics/public/what_is_epics.php on line 2

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening 'includes/header.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:') in /home/champion/k/snolfi/www/epics/public/what_is_epics.php on line 2

I'm testing it on a university account that is running php 5. Ideally, I just need to figure out how to do relative paths from the web root for all links as well. TIA

Comments

• Nolf-JobNolf-Job Inside each and every one of you!
    edited September 2006
    So after looking over things a bit more, I guess the real issue is that I don't think I have access to any of the apache configuration files. Running phpinfo() tells me that the document root is opt/www/htdocs. Since the webspace I'm trying to host it from is a university account, I only have access to the directories under snolfi in /home/champion/k/snolfi/www/epics/public as shown above. Is it even possible to change the document root variable to something else through php?
  • ShortyShorty Manchester, UK Icrontian
    edited September 2006
    There two ways around this..

Don't put all your files into the root directory. Instead work on creating an organised subfolder heirarchy.