Need help solving an eBay mystery

edited October 2006 in Hardware
Hello all - a newbie here. Great site - learning a lot

I've decided to bite the bullet and upgrade my PC, or even build a new one from cheapo bits and pieces off of ebay. Budget is small, but I'm really just looking for something that'll allow me play slightly more up to date games than Unreal GOTY (my current machine even struggles with that!). It's a P3 664 MHz with 384 MB SDRAM, and a 20gb drive. (I can hear the scoffing already!) Very much a noob when it comes to PC hardware though, but learning a lot since I started looking into this.

There's a machine on ebay that caught my eye - claims to have a 3.0 GHZ p4, ASRock motherboard, 512MB DDR ram with 3 slots for more, 256Mb Radeon 9200 PRO, 80GB drive, and 52 speed CD-RW writer. Loads of bells and whistles on the case too. I'm only really concerned with board, chip, memory, and graphics though. I'd make do with what I have in terms of everything else.

Few problems with it - did a bit of research, and couldn't find anything about a 256mb Radeon 9200 pro - just 128mb 9200s. Asked seller what the story was and got the response, 'The chipset is Radeon 9200 Pro AGP (0 x5960) and the memory is 268435456 bytes'. Think this person is an ebay dropoff shop employee and sounds like she knows less about computers than me. So first question is, is there any such thing as a 256mb Radeon 9200 pro?

Also asked seller which exact asrock motherboard was in the machine, and response was 'The asrock motherboard is www.abit.com.tw/IC7/IC7-6(inteli875P-ich5'. Doesn't make much sense, but when I googled bits and pieces of the above I found there's such a thing as an Abit IC7 board - maybe that's what it is? http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mainboards/display/abit-ic7_2.html
Has an AGP slot, so at least I could upgrade the graphics card.