Help Me Select a Notebook

edcentricedcentric near Milwaukee, Wisconsin Icrontian
edited November 2006 in Hardware
I am looking at a Toshiba A100, but willing to consider others.
This will be my office machine 100% of the time. I need a portable DTR machine.

Desired specs:
15"-15.5" screen
C2D CPU
dedicated GPU

everything else is negotiable.
tks ed

Comments

• profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited November 2006
    I'm no laptop expert, but bump for a good guy. :)
  • edcentricedcentric near Milwaukee, Wisconsin Icrontian
    edited November 2006
    Thanks Prof.
    Maybe I need to be clear, THIS WILL BE MY COMPANIES MONEY.
    I just want to make sure that I get everything that I can.
  • Sledgehammer70Sledgehammer70 California Icrontian
    edited November 2006
    http://www.notebookreview.com was a great resource when I was looking for laptops.
  • BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of Propaganda OKC Icrontian
    edited November 2006
    2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    1440 x 900 pixels (15" screen)
    1GB memory
    120GB hard drive
    6x double-layer SuperDrive
    ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 graphics with 128MB SDRAM
    $1,999

Just install Boot Camp and a copy of XP ;)
  • Sledgehammer70Sledgehammer70 California Icrontian
    edited November 2006
    Hey Buddy Jesus What brand is that? - link to Mac, so i am guessing it is a Mac?
  • BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of Propaganda OKC Icrontian
    edited November 2006
    That's the MacBook Pro's base model. There are two others to chose from, and then you can customize them a fair bit too. The 17" screen model looks tasty, but I don't know if it's worth the extra cash.
  • shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited November 2006
    In the past, I have been unimpressed with toshiba's offerings. My little brother's laptop had nothing but problems. This is about 7 years ago, though.