PCI Express and AGP on one board

WeedoWeedo New
edited December 2006 in Hardware
Is there a board that has both on it? I want to upgrade but not have to replace my video card right away. I'm lookin but I haven't found one yet.

Comments

• Sledgehammer70Sledgehammer70 California Icrontian
    edited November 2006
    There are a few out there, but your limited on the type of CPU it supports.

http://www.bytewizecomputers.com/products/7/7/943/11120

Here is a review: http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/09/16/asrock_939dual/
  • WeedoWeedo New
    edited November 2006
    That got me on the right path. I found it here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813157097 at Newegg. I really want to get it but I have never tried Asrock before. Some of the comments have me leary... the instability concerns. The price is right and it has everything else I want though. I'm torn. Anyone have Asrock experience?

This is a bad time to have a good AGP video card.
  • edited November 2006
    Weedo wrote:
    That got me on the right path. I found it here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813157097 at Newegg. I really want to get it but I have never tried Asrock before. Some of the comments have me leary... the instability concerns. The price is right and it has everything else I want though. I'm torn. Anyone have Asrock experience?

This is a bad time to have a good AGP video card.

Well, that board is the only one in the market with real AGP 8X and real PCI Express x16 slots. It has good overclocking capability and also as good performance as any other chipset (see my signature). The only limitation is vcore limit and there is a simple mod for that. Following is a link where you can read more. Let me know if you have any specific questions.

http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showthread.php?t=196664
  • WeedoWeedo New
    edited November 2006
    So did you have the problems mentioned by some? As in this review at Newegg for this board.