NOVICE NEEDS HELP w/PC dead in water

edited December 2006 in Hardware
I'm a novice and trying to help someone else so bear with me.

Problem: Turn PC on. Power light lights, dvd light lights and stays lit, and power supply fan turns, BUT......no BIOS startup or BIOS detection beeps - no monitor - nothing! Of course I can't even boot from A drive as the system never gets far enough to detect it. Opened the PC case and the fan attached to the mb doesn't spin as if no power is getting to the mb. Also, once PC is powered on, I can't turn it off via the power button - I have to pull the power cable to turn it off. I've checked all cables/connectors to be sure they're tight.

Nothing was done to PC prior to this problem happening. I do suspect that there may have been viruses because I was told the PC kept rebooting by itself. Other than the viruses, the user turn it on one day and no boot, no monitor, no nothing!

The PC is a Compaq Presario 5000. I don't have other specs as the user doesn't know.

If there was a Power supply problem, would the fan still spin? Would I still get lights on the power switch and dvd drive? Is this a crash or a mb problem? Any assistance you can give is greatly appreciated.

p.s. I've read about resetting BIOS, but I don't don't how and what impact will this have on the PC itself? Will any settings be lost?

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!!!!!!

Comments

• profdlpprofdlp The Holy City Of Westlake, Ohio
    edited November 2006
    vits5 wrote:
    ...the fan attached to the mb doesn't spin as if no power is getting to the mb...
    Do you mean the CPU fan? Or the somewhat smaller fan attached to one of the chips on the MB itself? Either could cause the problem you describe.
    ...I do suspect that there may have been viruses because I was told the PC kept rebooting by itself...
    Even so, you'd at least get something on the screen. Let's get the computer running first before we worry about that.