No gaming with new build !!!

edited January 2007 in Hardware
Can anyone please help me ?

I have recently upgraded my pc with new mobo ABIT AW9D-MAX and new cpu
Intel 2.4ghx Conroe Duo Core, 2 gigs Corsair DDR2 ram with Windows XP Pro.

Now be patient with me because I am a noob with PC's my knowledge is limited. I have 150gb Raptor Hard drive, 250 gb spinpoint sata HD drive, 320gb WD pata HD drive my graphics card is XFX Nvidia 7900 GTX PCIE.

The problem I have is although the build went well, every time a install a game BF2,FH or NWN2, whe I try to play the game the load times are incredibly slow, gameplay is impossible due to severe lag (thats after 10-15mins to load the game.

I have tried new nvidia drivers and even old ones to see if that helped. Tried dloading latest intel chipset for mobo. I have uninstalled and reconnected all the wiring. Have tried microsoft hotfixes. Basically I think I have tried all i know.

To be honest I am at the end of my patience and trying to keep calm when you feel you have wasted a lot of hard earned savings doesn't help.

I don't know what to do. Help me please.

Comments

• ShortyShorty Manchester, UK Icrontian
    edited January 2007
    That build should be spot on for performance, so my first major question is system cooling :)

How many fans do you have in your case? What system cooling do you have?

The abit board should have come with system monitoring tools, have you checked to see what temperature the processor and motherboard sensors are reporting...?

Apart from gaming, is any other application slow? Email, web...?

What antivirus do you have? Firewall?

Is this lag only during network play or is affecting single player gaming too?

How do you have your hard drives setup..?

That should get you started and will help us closer identify the issue you are having :)
  • Sledgehammer70Sledgehammer70 California Icrontian
    edited January 2007
    What Hard Drive are you installing the games on?