Java vs. C++/C#

jj Sterling Heights, MI Icrontian
edited February 2007 in Internet & Media
Ok, there has been a debate of what programming language is better, Java or C family. I'm just learning C++ and my next step is programinng windows applications. Mostly little helpful programs for work...nothing big. What advantages/disadvantages do these programming launguages have? I'm a newb at best.

Comments

• shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited February 2007
    In C++, you need to worry a lot more about memory and leaks.
    JAVA gives you Xplat easier, because the JVM runs on all/most systems. It also has garbage collection (memory management).
    C# has the memory management features of java, and the C-syntax that people like. I'm not that familiar with C#, though.

App Speed (in general):
    C++ > C# > JAVA

Development ease/speed (in general):
    C# == JAVA > C++

If you're writing for windows, I'd probably suggest C#. If you have a personal preference between JAVA/C#, go with whatever you like.
  • BLuKnightBLuKnight Lehi, UT Icrontian
    edited February 2007
    I have to agree with shwaip. It's much simpler to do GUIs in C#. I never want to touch Java's swing again.

As for app speed, Java used to be slow as a dog. The most recent releases of Java have closed the gap significantly.

Overall, I like C# best. However, in the programming world, you're going to want to know as many languages as you can.
  • shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited February 2007
    I'd say that knowing as many languages as possible isn't that important. Just have a firm grasp on the OOP concepts, and a good command of a high level language, and it's not hard to move to another high level, or even from a higher (C#/JAVA/C++) to a lower (C).
  • airbornflghtairbornflght Houston, TX Icrontian
    edited February 2007